Task Force Awarded Grant


By Mandy Robertson, Assignment Manager

POPLAR BLUFF -- The Southeast Missouri (SEMO) Cyber Crimes Task Force has been awarded more than $100,000 to continue its fight against online predators.

The grant was announced Monday by the Missouri Department of Public Safety.

"Nothing is more important than protecting Missouri's children from predators who prey online and these grants will help ensure that those efforts remain strong and well-funded," said Department of Public Safety Director John M. Britt. "I am particularly impressed by the number of arrests Missouri's cyber crimes investigators have been able to make, their professionalism and their recognition by the U.S. Justice Department as being among the nation's leaders."

Sixteen counties participate in the SEMO Cyber Crimes Task Force. Those counties are: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Dunklin, Madison, Mississippi, News Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscot, Perry, Ripley, Scott, St. Francois, Stoddard and Wayne.
Marion Regional
Current: 82°
High: 82°
Low: 68°
Wind: 9 MPH
Pressure: 0.00
Humidity: 58 %

What's on WSILTV Full Schedule